DAY FOUR

3 Feb

Trying to get more into the spirit of this blog-thing, make it interesting enough to actually want somebody to read it, rather than hope nobody does.

I used to hike and even run, I ran a few 5Ks and one 10K in which I won my age group, but I had to stop running due to foot problems. But I loved hiking and have a friend who I’ve hiked with every summer for the past at least five years. But three years ago, shortly after I turned 70, my right leg started to malfunction. I was headed off to work one morning when I went up the stairs to get something, and the leg was slowing me down on the stairs. Starting back down, I SHOOK the leg as one might do to get water out of one’s ears after swimming and muttered, “This DAMN leg!” and that was a big mistake. Something in there gave way and it hurt like blue blazes and I had to sit down at the top of the stairs.

I was using a cane for the next three months, had to give up my favorite summer job, and generally felt a lot like an invalid, an experience which I had never had before. But over the months it got better, just not ALL better. Finally I went and got the knees X-rayed, just to make sure it wasn’t bone degeneration, and what they found was a mild case of osteoarthritis.

So my walking has been fairly limited and I hate that. About a year ago I found a chiropractor who I trust totally and who said that I should probably walk anyway, even though it hurts, and now that I am back from Norway where one walks either UP the hill or DOWN the hill, and did make several walks but slowed everybody down, I really think I need to remedy or at least improve my walking ability. Hence the walks and this blog…

Today I saw a fox run across the road in front of me – trying to determine if the tracks it made match the tracks I saw up by the house, and I think they do, though they look more like a gray fox and I’m pretty sure the one I saw was a red fox. Oh well. Still doing the mile and a half and still stumping along like an old person, though I did hustle when I saw a car coming in my lane and I was almost to my turn-off. Hmm, maybe I COULD walk faster…

3 Responses to “DAY FOUR”

  1. david 02/06/2012 at 9:51 am #

    did you notice the fun and distinct pattern of the tracks of yon fox?

  2. mandosaturn 02/06/2012 at 9:58 am #

    Maybe I’ll have to start carrying my tracks book. But the tracks were very VERY distinct, each paw and claw well-defined. So I guess that’s the fun part?

  3. david 02/06/2012 at 10:02 am #

    actually I was thinking of the pattern – the 2 and one notion..

Leave a Reply

