February 5, Fifth walk

5 Feb

TEN MINUTES EARLY! It took me TEN minutes LESS time to go farther today. Now part of that I know was because it was windy and felt colder than it did Friday, and so I walked faster that first .3 miles that I had to walk into the wind. The other part is that I wore my regular walking shoes and not my pack boots, which make my feet feel heavy and sluggish. Still it’s a good sign.

I will need to maybe carry a windbreaker, though I hate having stuff to carry. Tie it around my middle, maybe. AND I MUST get better shoes. The walking shoes are too small for my footwarmers, but too cold without them for my once-frostbitten right foot. So I shall research a lightweight hiking boot that will accept wool socks and a footwarmer. I started out with one in each shoe but I had to stop and remove the one from my left foot, it was just too tight. It served me very nicely inside the mitten on the hand that held the walking stick. Good grief, do I need better mittens too? Those I can probably find at the thrift store.

Getting outside really does connect me to the world in a different way than getting in the car and driving someplace. I noticed that the little river near me makes a big ox bow just past the bridge, and then heads off in the direction it was going under the bridge. I’ve been here ten years and hadn’t noticed that. Of course one would never see that in the summertime, but maybe I’ll take my camera and get a picture of it. So sunny today that my first .3 miles was spent looking down so as not to have it in my eyes. All in all a lovely walk.

3 Responses to “February 5, Fifth walk”

  1. Steph Winter 02/05/2012 at 8:15 pm #

    It’s fun to walk UP the hill and DOWN the hill with you, Jane. (Sorry, I couldn’t resist checking out your blog.) Hey … keep up the good work, err … walk!

  2. david 02/06/2012 at 12:25 pm #

    speed is not the main deal here – the walk is – walk as fast as you have in you each time and don’t sweat the clock…

  3. mandosaturn 02/06/2012 at 12:37 pm #

    That’s the neat thing, David – I wasn’t trying – at ALL. It was a pleasant surprise. I don’t worry about it, in fact I often stand on the bridge looking down at the river, both ways. But the encouragement is always welcome.

    Steph, no problem. Any words of advice or encouragement are welcome!

Leave a Reply

