Alternate or Opposite

15 Feb

David had a question about branches being alternate or opposite so I paid attention to this as I walked today. As far as I could tell, ALL the trees I saw had alternate branches except for the pointy ones, the balsams and the spruces. Even with the spruces I wasn’t quite sure.

But the birches from a distance only show a structural outline, very graceful; but the poplars show every branch, making a whitish haze in the distance when there are a lot of them.

Fairly painful again today, but I did the whole walk. My big toe hurts, does this mean I will have to quit? Probably not. Thinking next week to add the first tiny bite out of the big hill.

One Response to “Alternate or Opposite”

  1. David Parmentier 03/19/2012 at 10:25 am #

    http://violet-snow.suite101.com/tree-identification-i-a14107
    not a well researched site, but the first sentence looked good…

Leave a Reply

