Rode Hard and Put Up Wet

7 Mar

Today, a week after a blizzard dumped a foot or so of snow on us, it rained all day. I decided that I probably had sufficient gear to walk in the rain. I even found a pair of waterproof mitts, I think they are made for snowmobilers with a little pouch to put a handwarmer in. Fifty cents at the thrift store. No need for handwarmers but the waterproof was really nice. So stylishly dressed for the weather I sallied forth.

Only to turn back after about 50 yards because the road was rather terrifyingly slippery. I found a pair of cleats, attached them to my hiking boots and was off again.

It’s amazing how many little aches and pains crop up and say, “Hey, look at me!” and I have begun to understand that most of the time I can ignore them and they go away, or at least become bearable. My toe hurts, my shoe is rubbing, there’s hair in my eyes etc etc. But I persevered and did the full two mile walk, stalking jauntily along even on the way back when I often slow down. But oh MY, am I glad to be home!

One Response to “Rode Hard and Put Up Wet”

  1. David Parmentier 03/19/2012 at 10:32 am #

    tough mamma – good mamma – strong – good work lady!!!

Leave a Reply

