Getting to Know Neighbors

6 Apr

Now that the weather is nicer, everybody is out and about so my walk is broken up by friendly chit-chat, which is just fine with me. The woman of the couple whom I see frequently said that I look a lot better than I did when I started, and I think she’s right. Even when it hurts, I can still keep going.

But on the really steep part of the hill, I toil slowly upwards, and then dawdle back down. I found a better rock to sit on at the top, but it’s surrounded by brush and now I worry about deer ticks. I suppose I should use some kind of poison at least on my feet now when I go walking.

Day two of the whole hill walk. My car measured the distance as 2.8 miles – my pedometer says I walked 3.5 miles. I think I need to shorten the stride on the pedometer. I’ve noticed that people in cars that go fast and scarcely move over for me seldom wave, but people in cars that go slowly and move way over often do. I get more wavers on the weekends, when people aren’t in a big hurry to get home from work.

Scared up a pair of Hooded Mergansers on the river, sadly they saw me before I saw them and were in hasty retreat when I finally spotted them. A pair of Crows were chasing a Raven, cawing loudly. I wonder if Ravens steal Crow’s eggs.

One Response to “Getting to Know Neighbors”

  1. Val 04/06/2012 at 8:04 pm #

    I had to look up Hooded Mergansers – very pretty birds.

    I’m glad you’re still doing well with your walking.

Leave a Reply

